One of the things every teacher strives to do, is instill a passion in students to want to read and write during their free time.  One of my 2nd graders has been very eager to soak up every ounce of knowledge he can at group.  When our 30 minutes was up he told me he didn’t want to stop writing.  I told him I’d leave some journal paper and if he wanted to write during his free time he could and I’d be happy to look at it the next time I came to group.  I had forgotten about it over the weekend and I was extremely surprised when Antavious came up to me when I walked into the room for group, grinning ear to ear, holding his 2 stories.  He had read about snakes and turtles and had written the information down in his own words.  I was very proud.  I have a “wall of fame” outside my door where I post some group work that I am proud of.  He was beaming when I told him this would definitely go on my wall.  I wanted to share this with everyone else.  I was happy to see that even though the spelling, punctuation, and grammar aren’t perfect, you can see some erasing that he attempted editing–a skill I am still teaching him how to process.  Please take a look at my Antavious’ writing!

This story says: Snakes can be 500 pounds and very small and big and fat and thing and sharp and poisonous and smart and they are 3-D.  They yellow.  They red.  They green.  They might eat us.  They jump.

This story says: Turtles can be 700 pounds and turtles fat and turtles wrinkly and turtles can fight and they scared of us and they is green.  They big.

UPDATE: I decided to send this work to the Principal’s Wall of Fame wall so Antavious could be recognized among his peers as someone who is making a reading-writing connection, taking the strategies he’s learning in group and putting them to use, and showing me the best writing he’s done so far this school year.  I think the work he’s doing outside of group is pretty darn awesome. (The Principal’s Wall of Fame is a show case outside of the Principal’s office where any teacher in the building can nominate a student’s work each trimester to be displayed and recognized for the entire school to see.  Students are announced on the intercom and typically there is a special lunch or treat at the end of the trimester for each student)

