I must confess I am beyond lucky to work in a district and in a building that supports the use of technology in the classroom.  I’ve even more lucky to have a principal that supports that use by me as a reading interventionist.  Many times reading teachers are looked over for some of the things classroom teachers receive, but I like pushing the envelope for what I can use to help engage students in the classroom.

I had asked my principal for an iPad when I heard other teams were getting them for the classroom.  She found somewhere in the budget to get one for me and the team.  Yesterday I received it and I’ve been having a lot of fun trying out some new apps.

Today I tried out the whiteboard app for one of my Reading Recovery students.  Before we got started with the lesson, I let him practice some words for fluency on the iPad.  You can see him in the photo above practicing the word not.  He’s my technology lover and I plan on using this with some of my word work time and also as an incentive for him.

 

Clemson University developed a Record of Reading (or Running Record) app where you can take a running record on the app.  This is great because all you have to do is type in the number of words and it will figure out accuracy and self correction ratios for you.  You can tap the error and self correct box and it will pop up the M S V analysis section for you to figure out.  The amazing part is you can email this running record in a PDF file to anyone–so the classroom teacher or principal or teacher leader, etc.  (I tried doing this, but I couldn’t figure out my email settings.  My Reading Recovery student laughed and put his head down at my technology illiteracy!)  You can even record your student reading and another iPad user can/could listen to the child reading when you send that user the record.  They recommend using a stylus pen, but I tried and it didn’t work for me.  Perhaps I just haven’t played with it enough.  To the right you can see the running record I took today.  It’s not super pretty, but it definitely is very neat.  This would be nice for those times that you might not have what you need for a running record.  I carry the iPad with me around all day to my different groups for whenever I might need to take a picture of something, video, or pull up Google to gather more information.  I think this could become super handy as well.

It’s been suggested to me that I download the ShowMe app and a story retelling app.  I haven’t played around with those yet, but I’m anxious to get started.  The world is my oyster.  If you have any recommendations for any great educational apps that I could use with my students please let me know.  I’m always looking for additional ways I can engage my students and help them grow as readers and writers while still making it fun.

 

UPDATE: After posting this blog, I had a technology teacher from the UK like this post and it took me to her blog where she does iPad app reviews.  She has a lot of really great resources so please visit The iPad Investigator to see some of the reviews if you are looking for good educational apps like I am.

