IMG_0065Reading with expression continues to be something I need to work more on with my students.  Now that I am teaching Guided Reading Plus, I think I focus less on expression than I used to.  I have to remind myself every now and then that this is still an important part of fluency and the reading process.

IMG_0066My 2nd and 3rd graders (specifically 2nd grade) need some work with expression.  I found some phonics chant cards online, which you can download for free HERE, and have been trying them out with my 2nd and 3rd graders.  There are 16 different cards ranging from reading in a baby voice, clapping each syllable as you read, reading like a pirate, being a volcano and starting in a whisper voice and then getting louder until you get to the end of the row, to even reading in a monster voice or a squeaky mouse voice.  Not all of them are appropriate for every situation so I let the kids pick from 2 or 3 cards I’ve selected for them.

IMG_0067My goal is to have some fun reading in different voices to get them use to actively reading  with some sort of expression–even if that means reading like a mouse or a monster.  From there we are going to work our way to reading naturally with expression.  It’s a work in progress to become phrased, fluent, and have expression, but you have to start somewhere.  This is something I have the kids work on while I am checking for accuracy through a running record.  They can do it with a partner or individually, but it’s something different than what they normally do.  I had the cards laminated and then punch a hole in the card so I could keep them on a ring.  If you’re looking for a way to boost expression with your kids, consider giving this a try.  It’s a new and creative way to get kids thinking about the way they read out loud.

