IMG_5612In my previous post I wrote about conferencing with my students on their writing and how spacing has been an area of focus.  A strategy that has worked well for me is spaghetti or meatball spaces.

It seemed like every time I talked to students about spaces they were inconsistent.  If I asked for bigger spaces then there were these huge gaps between the letters in the word and then if I talked to them about the large gaps then there was no spacing at all.

We talked about how when you write you should only be able to fit a piece of spaghetti between the letters in the word and when you write you should be able to fit a meatball between each word in your sentence.

The kids think this is funny and it has really seemed to help.  It’s a bit silly, but it does get the point across.  All I’ve had to say is are you going to make a spaghetti or a meatball space?

