EvidenceI’m supposed to conference with my 2nd graders every day, but between Iowa Assessments, field trips, and me being sick, that hasn’t happened very regularly the last couple of weeks.

One of the things I’ve been noticing when I go to visit with my 4 boys is that I’m really struggling to get anything kind of lengthy response from them.  They already have a rubric in their response journals on what a score of 1, 2, 3, and 4 needs to be, yet time after time, I come back to journals that have 2 or 3 sentences in it and are usually I was surprised that….or My favorite part was….

Both my student teacher and myself have modeled what a good reader response should look like and we’re still struggling.

I started using this little sheet called “Show me the evidence!”  I’m hoping that some of these examples of connecting words will help us with their responses when they are working independently in the classroom.

