IMG_8132Groups officially started this week and I AM EXCITED!!!!  I have many familiar faces and some new faces this year.  We kicked off groups by community building.

At home I painted my hand and arm and put it on the paper to make it look like the tree.  I brought it to school and had each student and myself put their finger on a green stamp pad and put their finger print on a branch.

I told the students that I am like a tree.  I will provide them with knowledge much like a tree provides nutrients for the leaves.  I will be the nutrients for their brain.  We will learn and grow with each other this year.  I put my “leaf” on the tree, too, because I will learn this year as well.

We will make mistakes, we will mispronounce words, we will get stuck, we will not be perfect, but that’s OK.  We are a family when we come into this room and we will build each other up so we all can be the best that we can be.

We have our family tree hanging up on the wall proudly.

I am so honored and privileged to be working with your child this year.  We are working hard so please check back in with us to see what we are doing.  2013-2014 is going to be a GREAT school year!  Go Cougars!

