IMG_8549I would like to be the first person to formally welcome Miss Amanda Penn into my classroom.  Amanda is student teaching with me for the next 8 weeks.

Miss Penn is coming from the University of Northern Iowa (Go Panthers!) with Elementary Education and Writing majors and minors in Reading, English, Language Arts.  Amanda comes to us at Lowell highly recommended and with significant reading experience to positively impact the learning of our kiddos.  Amanda is a product of the Waterloo school system, graduating from Waterloo West, so she is knowledgeable in how things work in Waterloo and our curriculum.

Amanda will be working with my 4 groups and then will also be working with kids in Kindergarten and 1st grade while I continue to work with my Reading Recovery students.

We’re excited to have her with us.  She’s already been a big help especially with my large 2nd grade group.  It’s nice to have additional hands to help our early readers.

 

