IMG_2061One of the things I have struggled to be better at is teaching my kids to find readable chunks so they are able to initiate multiple problem solving strategies at points of difficulty.  My other 2 teammates seem to do a much better job at teaching their students word parts when exiting kids out of Reading Recovery.

IMG_2064This past semester I decided to have my 4 Reading Recovery kiddos make word part books.  I got the idea from my coworker who has her older kids put word parts in file folders.  We put in different 2 and 3 letter blends and digraphs.  As we came upon these word parts in the books we read, I would have the student add it to their word part book.

It was amazing that when we were specifically keeping our eye out for these word parts how often we would find them.  Often times we would find so many that I wIMG_2063ould need to start writing them in just so we could keep moving.  This also made for good book selection options for my students.  If I knew he was having difficulties with a certain word part then I could find a book that provided many opportunities to come across that part.

The kiddos got to take their word part books home with them once Reading Recovery was over and it’s been really neat to see them using the book in class to help themself with reading and writing.  When I walk in I have several of them who tell me about a new word they added into their book or show me their writing where they used the word part book for help. While I still am no genius at word parts, I will say this helped my kids tremendously. They were able to problem solve much more efficiently and quickly. But I’m curious what are some other strategies/techniques/cool ideas people use to help kids with word parts?

