IMG_5828IMG_5844My other 2nd graders read The Fun Club Goes To The Post Office and it was quite the fun experience for them.  I asked the students what happens to the mail after they put it in their mailbox to be delivered.  Everyone responded, “it gets delivered to the person on the envelope.” and I’ll admit that before I researched into how mail gets from one place to the next I didn’t know how mail got from A to B.  All the kiddos agreed that something magical just must’ve happened in between because they couldn’t figure out how else it would happen.

I showed them a couple of quick clips on the behind the scenes of the post office and how mail is sorted to its final destination.  I brought in some mail for them to look at the special stamps and barcodes that get put on the envelope.  After we watched the videos and the students read the book, I had them brainstorm who they wanted to write a letter to .

We wrote a group letter to my son, Houston, as a model for the different parts of the letter.  They had lots of fun things they wanted me to tell my son like to do his chores and stay out of trouble! (Thanks, 2nd graders!!)  They then wrote their own letters to a person of their choosing.  We conferences to check for spelling and punctuation and then I taught them how to address an envelope.  They struggled with writing small enough and in the correct parts of the letter, but it’s an important skill to have.  We also look up how to find an address we didn’t know.

Letter writing is a life long skill whether it mail out a bill or write to your grandma.  Now they know the process of how a letter gets from point A to point B and can successfully write their own letters!

