IMG_8586With all the snow we’ve been getting here in Waterloo, I thought it would be so fun to do the From Milk to Ice Cream book with my 3rd graders and make snow ice cream.  Everyone has been doing it on Facebook and they were even talking about it on the radio.

IMG_8587I bagged up all the ingredients and got a ziplock baggy full of the best snow I could find at my house.  I hyped the kids up about it and we started our creation….and it failed.  Apparently, from what we’ve learned, you REALLY need the just fallen fluffy perfect snow.  My snow had ice chunks/crystals in it and it was more like as if I had just blended up ice instead of fluffy fresh fallen snow.  Our ice cream failed.  The kids agreed it was like a root beer float.  No worries–they still loved it, but it was far from our vision of this wonderful snow ice cream.

This still gave us the chance to write down the procedural steps using Linda Dorn’s graphic organizer.  The kids, as a group, filled out the graphic organizer on how we made snow ice cream.  This set them up to make their own graphic organizer on something they knew how to do or make and wanted to share with the rest of the group.

We took the next couple of days filling out our own graphic organizers and writing, using connecting words, different procedural steps on how to do something.  The 3rd IMG_0367graders were then able to share their writing with the group.

Since then the kids have been asking me daily if we can remake the snow ice cream with better snow, which I promised them we could do the next time we get fresh snow.  This of course happened last Wednesday…school let out early…and then 2 days for conferences…2 days off…yeah, the snow wasn’t fresh anymore.  Ok, so we don’t need A LOT of snow, but if we could get one more LIGHT snow where I can bring in fluffy snow for my kiddos that would be greaaaaat!

