IMG_0085My first graders have spent the last couple of weeks working on plants.  Last week I read them Flowers and I also read Leaves by Vijaya Khisty Bodach.  We learned about some of the parts of leaves and flowers and then we read And Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano.  We talked and wrote about how things change during winter turning into spring.  We wrote about what we noticed happening in Waterloo with it now spring–flowers blooming, grass turning green, buds on trees, etc.

This week we continued to work on plants.  I read Roots and then I read Seeds, again, by Vijaya Khisty Bodach.  From there students read The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli, which is about a crocodile who accidentally swallows a watermelon seed and is so worried he’ll grow a watermelon in his tummy.

The 1st graders drew and labeled the parts of a plant: seed, roots, stem, leaves, flower, pollen.  I had purchased a see through garden planter so we could grow our own mini garden, but since this is the last week of groups until we start reading tests we didn’t get to that.  It would’ve been a fun addition, but perhaps it’s something I can do with my students in the fall or even next spring.

