IMG_5702My 2nd graders have been doing a unit of study on seeds, plants, and growing.  I read Leaves, Flowers, Roots, and Seeds by Vijaya Khisty Bodach (4 separate books) starting out our unit of study, which goes into more depth on each flowers, roots, IMG_5897seeds, and leaves.  From there my 2nd graders have been reading And Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano and The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli.  Both are fictional stories, but based around the premise of growing seeds.

After we read And Then It’s Spring I had the 2nd graders plant their own garden.  This was a lot of fun.  We have planted carrots and beans and been writing and tracking the process (impatiently, of course!)  We have a chart of growth and we are writing the date each time we see something change on the chart.

We also dissected flowers to find the different parts of the flowers and to find the seeds (which they insisted we plant as well–maybe we’ll have carnations at some point growing in there, too??)

The kiddos took a highlighter and had to trace/locate the veins in the leaves.  It was pretty incredible to hold the leaves up to the light and see all the tiny and intricate veins within the leaves.  “Oh my gosh!  There are way more veins than I thought IMG_5900there would be!” said one of the girls in group.

I’ve done these books before, but I’ve never grown the garden or dissected flowers with the kids before.  It has been a lot of fun for me.  It’s almost more fun, though, seeing how excited the kids get coming in each day to see how the plants have changed since we first started working on the garden.

I will post an update later on once the plants have reached maturity closer to Christmas time.

IMG_5899

IMG_5895IMG_5894IMG_5896

